OLED TVs/monitors

S3lvah

I've been planning on getting a 4K OLED TV this year, and so spent unhealthy amounts of time consuming reviews. I figured I'd open a discussion on the topic, if anyone has input, thoughts or questions on the matter. I'm not a professional calibrator nor a TV user (yet), but I do know a lot about recent TV models because of this recent obsession, so maybe it'll be of use to someone.

Brief Q&A on the topic:

Why should I get an OLED?

- Each pixel is illuminated independently, resulting in deep blacks, pixel-perfect illumination and amazing contrast. Response times, motion performance and viewing angles are unparalleled.

When should I NOT get an OLED?

- If you have a tight budget, need a super bright screen or frequently display static content on it. OLEDs can suffer permanent image retention ("burn-in") if the pixels stay bright and unchanging for extended periods, and the screens can wear out unevenly.

Who manufactures them?

- Panels are made by LG Display (white-OLED) and Samsung Display (QD-OLED). These are made into TVs by LG, Samsung, Sony, and additionally in Europe, Panasonic and Philips. OLED monitors have been made out of them by ASUS, Dell (Alienware) and Gigabyte at least.

What models are there now?

- LG C2 (or last year's C1) is a standard recommendation for an all-purpose OLED TV. B2 has a weaker CPU and can sometimes be had for a lot less. The pricier G2 is brighter and designed to be wall-mounted

- Sony has pricier offerings for movie lovers: A80K, A90K, A95K and last year's A##J-models.

- Samsung's new QD-OLED panel is featured in their S95B (and Sony's A95K). It's capable of very high color luminance and has some other benefits, but also drawbacks due to being new technology.

- Panasonic TVs try to stand out with their highly accurate images, and Philips with their "Ambilight" back-lighting and decent all-around image processing.

What sizes are there?